top of page

EIGHT NIGHTS OF LATKES

Not your Bubby's Potato Latkes

This year for Channukah, I decided to switch it up and make eight variations on the traditional potato latke, because nothing says innovation like thousand-year-old religious tradition, right? I've been calling it the Eight Crazy Nights of Latkes, but I think a more fitting name is the Eight Clinically Insane Nights of Latkes since that's what you have to be to actually commit to doing this. While I can't pinpoint the exact moment the shift occured (it's all one big potato peeling, oil spattering blur), at some point within the eight days I think my tears from shredding onions became tears of saddness. And despair.

But in the end, when the starchy fog lifted, what was left were some pretty outstanding latke recipes that even Judah Macabee would kvel over.

Here are my favorites:

Mac and Cheese Latkes

One part crispy crunchy, one part ooey gooey cheesy. You say potato, I say potato mac and cheese.

Beet and Goat Cheese Latkes

A relatively healthy (they're still fried) alternative to the traditional potato pancake.

Sweet Potato Latke

I would say that these are a healthy alternative to traditional latkes but there's brown sugar inside and toasted marshmallow on top, so that would make me a big fat liar, wouldn't it?


bottom of page